How to Remove Your Facebook Account

If you're yearning for a News Feed-free life, we have actually put together a simple guide on How To Remove Your Facebook Account.

Prior to we start, see to it you intend to permanently erase your Facebook account, not just briefly remove it. Complying with the steps below will bring about complete elimination of your Facebook account and all its data, which could not be reversed.


If you just want to pause without erasing your account, scroll to find out how to deactivate it instead.

How To Remove Your Facebook Account


The best ways to completely erase Facebook

1. Log right into Facebook

For safety factors, you will certainly have to log into Facebook in order to delete it. If you're erasing an account you have not made use of in a while as well as have neglected your password, you will certainly have to reset it.

- Most likely to the Find Your Account Page.
- Type the e-mail, contact number, full name or username connected with your account, then click Search
- Comply with the detailed guide

If that does not work, or you do not have access to the connected contact number or email address, Facebook could aid you recoup your account instead.

2. Download your Facebook data

As this deletion procedure is long-term, you could wish to conserve your information initially. You can do this by clicking on the down arrow in the top right-hand corner of the display as well as choosing Settings.

You will be presented with a checklist of basic account setups. At the bottom is a link to "download a copy of your Facebook data", where you can do exactly that.


3. Call Facebook

Facebook doesn't make it very easy to erase your account and also has hidden the request develop deep in its aid pages. To earn it easier for you, we have actually connected to it here - you will certainly need to be visited to proceed.


A pop-up home window need to appear which reviews: "If you do not assume you will utilize Facebook once again and also would like your account deleted, we could take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or obtain any one of the material of info you have included. If you would certainly still like your account deleted, click "Delete My Account".

4. The final action

You will currently obtain a pop-up home window cautioning you, once more, that this is a permanent choice. To completely erase Facebook, re-enter your password. You will certainly also need to get in a CAPTCHA, after that click "OK".


5. The ceasefire agreement

Clicking OK on the erase pop-up isn't quite completion of the procedure. The previous pop-up will instead be replaced with this message: "Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.".

After clicking OK on this message you will certainly have 14 days to transform your mind. Afterwards time, your account will be gone forever with no way of reactivating it or getting any data you really did not save. Do not say we really did not warn you.

To reactivate your account, merely sign back into your account.

How to deactivate Facebook

If you do not want to permanently delete Facebook you could momentarily deactivate it rather.

- Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook web page.
- Select Settings.
- Click General in the left column and also choose Manage your account.
- Scroll down and also you'll see the Deactivate Facebook option.
- Click the Deactivate Facebook web link and follow the on-screen instructions.

If you deactivate your account your profile will no more be visible. You will no longer appear in your Pals' listings and also individuals won't have the ability to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to good friends, could still be visible to others.

To reactivate an account, any time, you could log back right into your account on any gadget. If you do not wish to inadvertently reactivate your account, you'll need to authorize out from all devices including the mobile app.