How to Remove Yourself From Facebook

If you're yearning for a News Feed-free life, we have actually created an easy guide on How To Remove Yourself From Facebook.

Before we begin, ensure you wish to permanently delete your Facebook account, not simply briefly remove it. Following the actions below will certainly bring about finish elimination of your Facebook account and all its data, which could not be undone.


If you simply wish to take a break without erasing your account, scroll to discover ways to deactivate it instead.

How To Remove Yourself From Facebook


The best ways to completely delete Facebook

1. Log into Facebook

For safety reasons, you will certainly have to log into Facebook in order to delete it. If you're deleting an account you have not used in a while as well as have forgotten your password, you will should reset it.

- Most likely to the Find Your Account Page.
- Type the email, telephone number, full name or username related to your account, then click Search
- Follow the step-by-step overview

If that does not work, or you do not have access to the linked phone number or email address, Facebook can help you recoup your account rather.

2. Download your Facebook information

As this deletion procedure is long-term, you may wish to conserve your data initially. You can do this by clicking on the down arrow in the leading right-hand corner of the screen and picking Settings.

You will certainly be presented with a listing of basic account setups. Near the bottom is a link to "download a copy of your Facebook data", where you can do precisely that.


3. Get in touch with Facebook

Facebook does not make it simple to delete your account as well as has actually hidden the request form deep in its assistance pages. Making it less complicated for you, we have actually linked to it here - you will certainly have to be logged in to continue.


A pop-up home window must show up which reviews: "If you do not assume you will certainly utilize Facebook once more and would like your account deleted, we can look after this for you. Bear in mind that you will not have the ability to reactivate your account or obtain any one of the content of info you have actually included. If you would still like your account removed, click "Delete My Account".

4. The last action

You will currently obtain a pop-up window advising you, once again, that this is an irreversible decision. To completely erase Facebook, re-enter your password. You will also need to go into a CAPTCHA, after that click "OK".


5. The cooling-off period

Clicking OK on the erase pop-up isn't really fairly the end of the procedure. The previous pop-up will certainly rather be replaced with this message: "Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.".

After clicking OK on this message you will have 14 days to transform your mind. Afterwards time, your account will be gone forever with no chance of reactivating it or fetching any information you didn't conserve. Do not state we really did not warn you.

To reactivate your account, just sign back right into your account.

How you can shut off Facebook

If you don't want to completely remove Facebook you can temporarily deactivate it instead.

- Click the account menu at the top right of any kind of Facebook page.
- Select Settings.
- Click General in the left column and pick Manage your account.
- Scroll down as well as you'll see the Deactivate Facebook option.
- Click the Deactivate Facebook link and adhere to the on-screen instructions.

If you deactivate your account your profile will no longer be visible. You will certainly no more show up in your Buddies' checklists and also people will not be able to look for you. Some details, such as messages you sent to buddies, may still be visible to others.

To reactivate an account, at any time, you could log back into your account on any type of device. If you don't intend to mistakenly reactivate your account, you'll need to authorize out from all gadgets including the mobile app.